Particle Physics and Cosmology Group

The main research areas in particle physics are flavor physics phenomena with a focus on theinvestigation of B decays, CP violation, top physics and collider phenomenology, as well as physicsbeyond Standard Mode, neutrino physics and its cosmological implications. There is a strong background of perturabative QCD calculations investigating the hadron structure (in particular the parton distribution functions), developing methods for NLO calculations of high-energy processes at colliders, and analyzing low energy QCD phenomena.Within mathematical physics, different phenomena of field theories are investigated. In particular, the collective field theory and matrix models, geometry of the non-commutative space and construction of field theories and their symmetries on such spaces.The principal focus in cosmology is placed on the study of the accelerated expansion of the universe and possible production mechanisms, as well as the study of the dark matter modes and the unification of dark energy and dark matter in a single cosmic component. There is also research of models of analog gravity, especially analog black holes and analog cosmology with application to hadronic physics. Finally, various aspects of quantum foundations in high-energy physics are studied, with emphasis on black-hole information paradox and Bohmian formulation of quantum theory.
 

Head

Blaženka Melić


melic@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/208
Phone: +385 1 456 1033
Phone (internal): 1633

Members

Oleg Antipin


Oleg.Antipin@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/209
Phone: +385 1 456 1032
Phone (internal): 1232

Silvije Domazet


sdomazet@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 2/242
Phone: +385 1 457 1364
Phone (internal): 1230

Goran Duplančić


gorand@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/205
Phone: +385 1 456 1194
Phone (internal): 1349

Clay James Grewcoe


Clay.Grewcoe@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/Tavan

Larisa Jonke


larisa@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/203
Phone: +385 1 468 0221
Phone (internal): 1345

Danijel Jurman


Danijel.Jurman@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 2/242
Phone: +385 1 457 1364
Phone (internal): 1230

Domagoj Leljak


Domagoj.Leljak@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/Tavan

Alessio Maiezza


Alessio.Maiezza@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/Tavan

Dieter Müller


Dieter.Mueller@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/211
Phone: +385 1 468 0092
Phone (internal): 1350

Fabrizio Nesti


Fabrizio.Nesti@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/205
Phone: +385 1 456 1194
Phone (internal): 1349

Hrvoje Nikolić


hnikolic@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/211
Phone: +385 1 468 0092
Phone (internal): 1350

Bene Nižić


nizic@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/203
Phone: +385 1 468 0221
Phone (internal): 1345

Kornelija Passek-Kumerički


passek@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/209
Phone: +385 1 456 1032
Phone (internal): 1232

Monalisa Patra


Monalisa.Patra@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/209
Phone: +385 1 456 1333
Phone (internal): 1333

Goran Popara


goran.popara@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/Tavan
Phone: +385 1 4571 307
Phone (internal): 1857