Particle Physics and Cosmology Group

Research interests in the Particle Physics and Cosmology Group are devoted to the understanding of fundamental constituents of the matter and their interactions and they include several directions in the theoretical high-energy physics research.

Particle physics has gained a significant impact from high-energy particle collider searches like those at LHC and planned linear particle colliders, as well as from the results of new neutrino and dark matter experiments providing the insight in the fundamental problems of particle physics and challenges of their theoretical descriptions.

Activities in the group are connected with the research a) in the flavor physics, testing the Standard model (SM) predictions in heavy-hadron decays by calculating the transition heavy-to-heavy from factors, testing the lepton favour universality and calculating heavy-hadron properties. In the area of b) the collider physics the current interests are in calculating the next-to-leading (NLO) and next-to-next-to-leading (NNLO) corrections to the Standard model processes, testing the beyond SM (BSM) physics at current and future particle colliders as well as developing Monte Carlo generators for the high precision calculation of collider physics. For the higher-order loop calculations there is a development of the numerical and analytical methods and programs. The hard exclusive processes at colliders are also theoretically investigated offering deeper insight in the 3D structure of hadrons. In the Group there is also research activities in c) exploration of the new paradigm of the asymptotically safe extensions of the SM and phenomenological analysis of these extensions with accurate predictions for colliders. Finally, d) cosmological implications of new models of particle physics to inflation, dark matter and cosmological constant problem are under recent investigation. In order to strengthen this highly potential field of research the Particle Physics and Cosmology Group has supported application for the tenure track position opening of the Croatian Ministry of Science for the employment of a young perspective scientist to develop a research group in this area of research and plans also a position opening in the future.
 

Head

Blaženka Melić


melic@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/208
Phone: +385 1 456 1033
Phone (internal): 1633

Members

Oleg Antipin


Oleg.Antipin@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/209
Phone: +385 1 456 1032
Phone (internal): 1232

Jahmall Matteo Bersini


Jahmall.Matteo.Bersini@irb.hr
Room: 1/203
Phone: +385 1 468 0221
Phone (internal): 1345

Goran Duplančić


gorand@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/205
Phone: +385 1 456 1194
Phone (internal): 1349

Domagoj Leljak


Domagoj.Leljak@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/Tavan
Phone: +385 1 457 1306
Phone (internal): 1856

Alessio Maiezza


Alessio.Maiezza@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 2/229
Phone: +385 1 456 1133
Phone (internal): 1333

Kenji Nishiwaki


knishiw@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/229
Phone: +385 1 456 1333
Phone (internal): 1333

Davor Palle


Davor.Palle@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1
Phone: +385 1 456 1030
Phone (internal): 1430

Kornelija Passek-Kumerički


passek@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/209
Phone: +385 1 456 1032
Phone (internal): 1232

Goran Popara


goran.popara@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/Tavan
Phone: +385 1 4571 307
Phone (internal): 1857

Tania Natalie Robens


trobens@irb.hr
Room: Krilo 1/210
Phone: +385 1 456 1121
Phone (internal): 1521